Motion: Freeze and Blur

Brake lights from long exposure photo

The theme for this week is motion.  I decided to play around with a few things, namely light trails and water.

Set One

For these first two pictures I went and looked for a road that had some obvious turns so I could get some cool shots of cars coming and going.  This top one is my favorite. The car that drove by in this shot was going a lot faster than the others and he hit his brakes as he drove past which gave me lots of the red light from his brake lights and his headlights didn’t expose as much of the photo as the second one.  I love that the speed limit sign and lights from the McDonalds down the road are illuminated and still while the car lights rush by.

The last picture is at a roundabout.  This was a fun shot to take.  I did a bit of j-walking and set up in the middle of the roundabout.  I felt pretty stealthy hiding in the bushes there while cars drove around.  I was worried about the street light over-exposing the shot but I got it figured out and really like what it added to the shot by illuminating the vibrant green grass at the base of the light post.

Light Speed

05.01.15, 10:34 p.m., Rexburg ID -Canon t3i; f/11, “30.0, ISO 100

Brake lights from long exposure photo

Warped

05.01.15, 10:45 p.m., Rexburg ID – Canon t3i; f/11, “30.0, ISO 100

Car lights from long exposure photo

The comings and goings

05.01.15, 10:05 p.m., Rexburg ID -Canon t3i; f/10, “30.0, ISO 100

Car lights at roundabout from long exposure photo

Set Two

For this set I played around with water.  It was a lot more difficult than I thought to get the water to show up in the shot how I wanted it.  Next time I try this I’m going to use paint.  It’s much less transparent and sticks together a lot better than water.

Splish Splat

05.03.15, 2: 18 p.m., Rexburg ID -Canon t3i; f/16, 1/400, ISO 500

Splash

Orange Crush

05.05.15, 11:18 a.m., Rexburg ID – Canon t3i; f/8, 1/640, ISO 250

Splahs2

Cruzin’

05/05/15, 10:30 a.m., Rexburg ID – Canon t3i; f/6.3, 1/80, ISO 320

Wheelspin

Freshly Squeezed

05.05.15, 11:15 a.m., Rexburg ID -Canon t3i; f/11, 1/640, ISO 500

Splahs3

5 thoughts on “Motion: Freeze and Blur

  1. Great job! I really like your motion blur shots they came out great! That red color from the car lights really makes the pictures stand out. You did really great with those. Your freeze shots are very creative and I really like the way you were able to capture them. The colors you used were great too.

    Here is another great one to check out
    https://reannajonesdesign.wordpress.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

