Vector Bike

Biking is something I’ve been doing since I was just two years old.  I remember my dad always working on bikes growing up and thought it was the coolest thing when he’d have dozens of parts all laid out one day to clean them and the next they’d all be put back together as his red, Trek mountain bike.

It’s because of how I remember my dad always taking apart bikes and putting them back together that I wanted to do an exploded view of a bike.  It was a bit harder than I thought it would be, but I was able to refine a lot of my skills with different illustrator tools, particularly the rotate and shape building tools.

I started out sketching out various parts of the bike and from there quickly moved onto my first digital draft of some of those parts:

mBlaine_Bike_SketchesMBlaine_Bike1

After that I refined the shapes and color scheme based on reference photos:

After that I was finished!  Well, as finished as I could be.  I’m going to come back to this project when I get some time to breathe.  There’s a lot more I want to do and aspects I want to refine.  The part I’m most proud of is the wheels.  I spent like two hours reading about and watching videos on how to string a spoke wheel, I think I nailed it on the spokes.  MBlaine_Bike_Final

Leave a Reply

